The Way to my Heart

They say that food is the way to one’s heart. In my opinion, that couldn’t be any more true whether it’s with your significant other, family, or close friend. When I have a meal with someone, it’s not just anyone, it is someone who I truly enjoy being around.  Or if it’s a date, it is a great chance to get to know someone. When I first started dating my s.o., we went on so many food adventures and have gotten to know each other over it. Its a great way to bond with someone. Having a meal with a loved one is one of the best feelings!


After a long day of working at home, it was nice to finally get out and relax. My s.o. and I went to eat dinner at one of our favorite places, called Gatten Sushi, which is a revolving sushi restaurant. They have such delicious sushi that just melts in your mouth! Only the best sushi melts in your mouth. I love how they are unique and creative with their dishes. Like, they don’t have just your plain salmon nigiri, they have smoked salmon nigiri, black pepper salmon nigiri, they just have different dishes that you can’t find at other revolving sushi restaurants. They even have fresh oysters! What other revolving sushi place can you find oysters?! You just grab whatever plates you want on a conveyor belt that circulates around the restaurant.

For dessert, we went to a Filipino fusion cafe, called Cafe 86. I’ve been wanting to go there, because they have ube (oo-bay) EVERYTHING!! If you don’t know what ube is, it’s a purple yam/sweet potato that Filipinos like to make desserts out of. However, this place doesn’t serve traditional Filipino ube desserts, they came up with creative ideas to make desserts with ube. They have ube milk tea, ube milkshakes, ube truffles, ube leche flan cupcakes. It’s seriously like ube heaven! The reason I wanted to try this place so bad was because of their ube leche flan cupcake. Sadly, I went on a day they don’t serve it. I was so bummed! Instead, I tried an ube truffle which was super amazing! At first I thought it was going to be really sweet, because Filipinos like to make their desserts super sweet, but as I bit into it it was a perfect balance of sweet and bitter, which is how a truffle should be! So if you are an ube lover, and you live or are visiting Socal, you should definitely check this place out!

Don’t worry ube leche flan cupcake, I will come back for you!!

IMG_6338
Black Pepper Salmon Nigiri
IMG_6339
Philadelphia roll. Look at all of hat cream cheese!!
img_63401.jpg
Baked green mussel
IMG_6341
Cute menu at Cafe 86
img_63421.jpg
Popular drinks
img_63431.jpg
Filipino fusion pastries
img_63451.jpg
(L-R) Mermaid Milk Tea, Ube truffle, and Sea Salt Black Milk Tea. (Picture credit to my s.o.)

What is the way to your heart?

~ Gabrielle

One thought on “The Way to my Heart”

Leave a comment